Senator Tim Flakoll Elected Vice Chair of Midwestern Higher Education Compact

Posted: Wednesday, November 16, 2016 - 15:58

2016-17 MHEC OfficersST. LOUIS, MO; MINNEAPOLIS, MN and FARGO, ND– Tri-College University Provost and North Dakota State Senator Tim Flakoll was elected commission vice chair of the Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC), during the commission’s semi-annual meeting held in St. Louis, MO, on November 14-15. Flakoll was elected treasurer last fall and served a year term (2015-16).

One of four regional higher education compacts in the United States, MHEC is a nonprofit regional organization assisting its 12 member Midwestern states in advancing higher education through interstate cooperation and resource sharing. The primary constituents served by the Midwestern Higher Education Compact are nearly 1,000 public and private non-profit institutions in the member states whose combined enrollments total over four million students.

Senator Flakoll was initially appointed a MHEC commissioner in 2001, and has been reappointed seven times, each for two-year terms.
"I am pleased to take this next step in leadership for an organization that values collaboration in the Midwest and seeks to improve postsecondary opportunities in our region,” said Senator Tim Flakoll.

North Dakota has been a member of the Compact since April 1999. North Dakota higher education institutions, school districts, state and local governments, as well as students and families have saved over $6.5 million by using MHEC’s cost savings programs and services, and its student exchange program since becoming a member.

“Senator Flakoll’s service on our Executive Committee and guidance as an officer this past year combined with his leadership serving as chair of the North Dakota Senate Education Committee will be instrumental in serving MHEC’s many programs and initiatives,” said Larry Isaak, MHEC president. Flakoll also serves as past chair of the Council of State Governments Midwestern Legislative Conference.

Additional North Dakota MHEC Commissioners are: Dr. James Davis, president, Turtle Mountain Community College; Dr. Mark Hagerott, chancellor, North Dakota University System; Representative Dennis Johnson, North Dakota Legislative Assembly; and Mr. Don Morton, senior director, Microsoft.

The compact seeks to fulfill its interstate mission through programs that expand postsecondary opportunity and success; promote innovative approaches to improving institutional and system productivity; improve affordability to students and states; and enhance connectivity between higher education and the workplace. Member states are: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.