Ohio Department of Higher Education approves Midwest tuition reciprocity participation

Posted: Thursday, July 6, 2017 - 12:50

Media Contact:
Mary Roberson
MHEC Director of Communications and Marketing
(612) 677-2765
Embargoed for Release at 10:00 AM, CT, July 6, 2017

In May, the Ohio Department of Higher Education approved participation in the Midwestern Higher Education Compact’s (MHEC) Midwest Student Exchange Program (MSEP). The program enables residents of Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Wisconsin, and now Ohio to enroll in designated institutions and programs at reduced tuition levels. The University of Akron, University of Rio Grande, and Cleveland State University have already signed on to participate. Nearly 90 campuses across the existing nine participating states will begin accepting Ohio residents under MSEP no later than the 2018-19 academic year. Actual start dates for Ohio participation may vary by campus.

MSEP students pay no more than 150 percent of the institution’s regular resident tuition plus any required fees at participating public institutions. At participating private institutions, MSEP students receive at least a 10 percent tuition reduction. Average MSEP savings by students’ home state of residence was $6,527 during the 2016-17 school year. In exchange, residents from the other participating MSEP states could pay reduced rates at participating schools at Ohio institutions agreeing to participate.

“The MSEP provides students with an opportunity to enroll in programs that are not available in their state or convenient for them,” said MHEC President Larry Isaak. “The program also provides participating campuses with the flexibility to pick and choose qualifying criteria to meet the institution’s needs, meanwhile increasing student enrollment and program awareness, as well as targeting degree programs with capacity.”

The University of Akron will be offering all degree-levels beginning with the 2017-18 school year. The University of Rio Grande will begin offering associate, baccalaureate, and master’s degrees also this fall. Cleveland State University will be determining at what level(s) they will be offering degrees for the 2018-19 school year.

“This will be a great benefit for Ohio students beginning in the fall of 2018, and for some, in 2017,” said Ohio Department of Higher Education Chancellor John Carey. “Some students may qualify now, so it’s important that they check with their college of choice to see if they are eligible.”

“We welcome this opportunity to join the Midwest Student Exchange Program, which will enable even more potential students to learn about the tremendous benefits and opportunities that are made possible with a University of Akron degree,” said University of Akron President Matthew J. Wilson. “Our location and extensive connections with businesses in Akron and throughout northeast Ohio provide a significant advantage for students to obtain real-world experience while in school, which improves their career prospects when they graduate.”

Through MSEP, MHEC is working towards providing more affordable opportunities for students to attend out-of-state institutions. Since 1994, students and families have saved over $420 million in tuition.  

For further information on the MSEP visit www.mhec.org/msep or contact Adam Lofquist, program development and marketing associate, at adaml@mhec.org or 612-677-2773.

About the Midwestern Higher Education Compact
The Midwestern Higher Education Compact is a nonprofit regional organization assisting Midwestern states in advancing higher education through interstate cooperation and resource sharing. MHEC seeks to fulfill its interstate mission through programs that expand postsecondary opportunity and success; promote innovative approaches to improving institutional and system productivity; improve affordability to students and states; and enhance connectivity between higher education and the workplace. Member states are: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.