state authorization

Minnesota joins five other Midwest states to participate in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement

Minneapolis, MN — Minnesota has been approved by the Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC) as the sixth state to join the Midwestern State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (M-SARA). Minnesota joins Indiana, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, and North Dakota which were approved in 2014. Nationally, Minnesota is the 19th state to join the agreement.

Compact eNews

June 21, 2013

MHEC Executive Committee meets, approves State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement
Inaugural Tuning symposium a resounding success
MHEC releases research briefs on institutional effectiveness and Efficiency
Mobile Device Management solution RFP, proposals due July 11

State Authorization Moving Forward

Representatives of 48 states and the four regional higher education compacts will meet in Indianapolis on April 16-17, to discuss implementation of reciprocity agreements for state authorization of distance education. The meeting follows the release of the final report of the Commission for the Regulation of Postsecondary Distance Education, which endorsed an interstate reciprocity system that will significantly streamline regulations and allow universities and colleges to more easily offer online courses across the country.