Ken Sauer Elected Vice Chair of the Midwestern Higher Education Compact

Posted: Thursday, November 16, 2017 - 13:58

Ken Sauer - 2017-18 Vice ChairOVERLAND PARK, KS; MINNEAPOLIS, MN; and INDIANAPOLIS, IN– Ken Sauer, senior associate commissioner and chief academic officer, Indiana Commission for Higher Education was elected vice chair of the Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC) on November 13, during the commission’s semi-annual meeting held in Overland Park, Kansas. One of four regional higher education compacts in the United States, MHEC ( is a nonprofit regional organization assisting its 12 member Midwestern states in advancing higher education through interstate cooperation and resource sharing.

“Ken is a dedicated thought-leader and I am appreciative of his service as MHEC commissioner and now as vice chair,” stated Larry Isaak, MHEC president. “He will continue to be a valued resource as our programs and services expand.”

Dr. Sauer was initially appointed a MHEC commissioner in 2007 by then Governor Mitch Daniels. He was reappointed in 2013 under then Governor Mike Pence, and recently was reappointed by Governor Eric Holcomb. In 2013, he began serving on MHEC’s Executive Committee. He has been actively involved in many of MHEC’s committees including the Multi-State Collaborative on Military Credit Steering Committee, Midwestern State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement Regional Steering Committee, and the e-Transcript Initiative Project Advisory Committee.

Dr. Sauer commented, “In my role, it has been my good fortune to be actively involved in many of MHEC’s initiatives and see first-hand the tremendous positive impact they have on students and higher education institutions in the Midwest. It is an honor to be serving as vice chair for the Compact.”

In addition to Dr. Sauer current Indiana commissioners are: Mr. Greg Goode, executive director of government relations, Indiana State University; Dr. Charles R. Johnson, president, Vincennes University; Representative Wendy M. McNamara, Indiana General Assembly; and Senator Jeff Raatz, Indiana General Assembly. Ms. Teresa S. Lubbers, commissioner for the Indiana Commission for Higher Education serves as a commissioner alternate.

2017-18 MHEC Officers
Chair Tim Flakoll (ND), Vice Chair 2017-18 MHEC Officers: Ken Sauer (IN), and Treasurer Olivia Madison (IA)
  2017-18 MHEC Officers: Chair Tim Flakoll (ND), Vice Chair 2017-18 MHEC Officers: Ken Sauer (IN), and Treasurer Olivia Madison (IA)

Legislatively created, the Midwestern Higher Education Compact’s purpose is to provide greater higher education opportunities and services in the Midwestern region. Collectively, MHEC creates solutions that build higher education’s capacity to better serve individuals, institutions, and states by leveraging the region’s expertise, ideas, and experiences through multi-state: convening, programs, research, and contracts. Member states are: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. Learn more.

Media Contact:
Mary Roberson
MHEC Director of Communications and Marketing
(612) 677-2765