Dell contract available through higher education compact extended to 16 southern states

Posted: Tuesday, October 15, 2013 - 10:56

Minneapolis – A recent agreement between the Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC) and the Southern Regional Education Board (SREB) will allow U.S. colleges and universities; K-12 districts and schools; city, state, and local governments; and non-profit organizations to receive significant discounts and services from Dell’s global technology.

The MHEC-SREB agreement expands the opportunity for cost savings to the 16 southern states of Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia. The agreement with Dell is a result of a Request for Proposal process conducted by the Midwestern Higher Education Compact’s Network Hardware Committee that has been in place since 2009. Midwestern states realized cost savings of over $22 million on hardware contracts in FY 2012.

“The addition of SREB states is huge for the institutions,” explained Compact President Larry Isaak. “With our 12 states in the Midwest, our agreement with 13 additional states of our sister compact in the West - the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE) – and now SREB’s 16, there is a lot of potential for cost savings with the contracts we have in place.” 

According to John Dunning, chief information officer for Wayne State College in Nebraska and chair of the Compact’s Technology Committee this has been something Texas-based Dell has been asking for in their negotiations. MHEC’s Technologies Committee guides the work of the Compact to determine viable technology contracts and services to explore. “It’s great that we can not only look to these vendors to help us identify and address the common challenges our states face with technology within our region, but that we can now also expand this to the benefit of many with this aggregated purchasing power to other regions,” said Dunning.

A website, specifically for the MHEC contract, may be accessed at:

About MHEC
The compact saves members time and money with technology, insurance, and tuition savings. Headquartered in Minneapolis, the compact consists of twelve member states:  Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin. Statutorily-created, the member states’ five commissioners are appointed and are leaders from higher education, the legislature, and the governor’s office. Commissioners meet twice a year and will meet again November 17-19, in Omaha, NE. The commission is currently chaired by Dr. Randolph Ferlic, former regent for the University of Nebraska System. For more information about the compact, please visit or call 612-677-2777, or for specific questions about the technology contracts and services contact Nathan Sorensen, strategic information technology (IT) procurement officer, at