M-SARA States

Link to NC-SARA State Updates

Link to NC-SARA Portal Entity Contacts





M-SARA Regional Steering Committee Membership
(*At-Large Representative)


Public Act 098-0792

Signed by Gov. Pat Quinn on 7/25/14

Illinois approved as ninth state on 7/31/15

Illinois Board of Higher Education Nkechi Onwuameze, Illinois Board of Higher Education

IC 21-18-12.2-1 and IC 21-18.5-6-12

Indiana approved as first M-SARA state on 2/21/14

Indiana Commission for Higher EducationKen Sauer, Indiana Commission for Higher Education

Senate Bill 501 | House File 663

Signed by Gov. Terry Branstad on 5/22/2015
Iowa approved as eighth state on 6/1/15

Iowa College Student Aid CommissionSue Huppert, Des Moines University
Gretchen Bartelson, Northwest Iowa Community College*

Chapter 74-32,194.
Signed by Gov. Sam Brownback on 3/31/14
Kansas approved as fourth M-SARA state on 11/16/14

Kansas Board of RegentsMike Michaelis, Fort Hays State University

Act 45 of 2015

Signed by Gov. Rick Snyder on 6/9/15

Michigan approved as tenth M-SARA state on 8/30/15

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory AffairsShellie Haut-Root, Central Michigan University

Chapter 312, Article 1, Sections 7 & 11

Signed by Gov. Mark Dayton on 5/20/14
Minnesota approved as sixth M-SARA state on 1/26/2015

Minnesota Office of Higher EducationBetsy Talbot, Minnesota Office of Higher Education

Section 173.030.1, Paragraph 6

Signed by Gov. Jay Nixon on 6/19/14
Missouri approved as fifth M-SARA state on 11/16/14
Missouri Department of Higher EducationBibi Schultz, Missouri State Board of Nursing*
Laura Vedenhaupt, Missouri Department of Higher Education


Signed by Gov. Dave Heineman, 4/2/14
Nebraska approved at third M-SARA state on 8/9/14
Nebraska Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary EducationKathleen Fimple, Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education
Mary Niemic, University of Nebraska*
Chapter 15-18.1

Signed by Gov. Jack Dalrymple, 4/11/13 
North Dakota approved as second M-SARA state on 4/3/14

North Dakota University SystemRichard Rothaus, North Dakota University System
Lane Huber, Bismarck State College*

Section 3333.171
Signed by Gov. John R. Kasich, June 14, 2014
Ohio approved as seventh M-SARA state on 3/2/2015

Ohio Department of Higher EducationStephanie Davidson, Ohio Department of Higher Education
SDSouth Dakota joined SARA through the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education  

Wisconsin Act 208
Signed by Governor Walker 3/1/16

Wisconsin approved as eleventh M-SARA state on 8/12/2016

Distance Learning Authorization Board


Don Madelung, MHEC Commissioner
Morna Foy, Wisconsin Technical College System*