Nebraska approved as third M-SARA state

Posted: Friday, August 15, 2014 - 07:11

Nebraska was approved late last week by the Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC) as the third MHEC state to join the Midwestern State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement and the eighth state to join the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements. SARA is a nationwide initiative of states that will make distance education courses more accessible to students across state lines, as well as make it easier for states to regulate and institutions to offer interstate distance education. The SARA agreements are implemented by the four regional higher education interstate compacts, the Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC), the New England Board of Higher Education (NEBHE), the Southern Regional Education Board (SREB), and the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE). The effort is funded by a $2.3 million grant from Lumina Foundation. Nebraska’s Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education will serve as the portal agency for the state. Read the CCPE News Release. Nebraska joins Indiana and North Dakota as states approved for membership by MHEC. Six states have also been approved by WICHE for membership: Alaska, Colorado, Idaho, Nevada, and Washington. Montana was approved as the ninth state on Wednesday.