Senator Tim Flakoll Elected Treasurer of Midwestern Higher Education Compact

Posted: Tuesday, November 17, 2015 - 11:15

2015-16 MHEC OfficersCHICAGO, IL; MINNEAPOLIS, MN and BISMARCK, ND – North Dakota Senator Tim Flakoll was elected the treasurer of the Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC) on November 16, during the commission’s semi-annual meeting held in Chicago. One of four regional higher education compacts in the United States, MHEC is a nonprofit regional organization assisting its 12 member Midwestern states in advancing higher education through interstate cooperation and resource sharing. Member states have a combined enrollment of approximately 5 million students at public and private campuses.

“Senator Flakoll’s vast experience serving as a legislator, chairman of the Senate Education Committee, and as provost for Tri-College University made him a great candidate for one of the Compact’s officer positions,” said Larry Isaak, MHEC president. “As MHEC continues to embark on several new interstate collaborative efforts, his input as an officer will be important.”

Senator Flakoll serves district 44 in Fargo. He was initially appointed a MHEC commissioner in 1999 and has been reappointed to eight consecutive two-year terms since. In 2009 he began serving on MHEC’s Executive Committee.

“As we look to efficiently meet the current and future challenges of a knowledge-based economy, the collaboration and leadership of the MHEC partnership is especially important to students and other stakeholders in North Dakota and MHEC member states” according to Senator Flakoll.  “Political and professional education partnerships have been central objectives throughout my career and I look forward to more opportunities that I can work on in this leadership role.”

ND Sen. Tim FlakollIn addition to Senator Flakoll current North Dakota commissioners are: Dr. James L. Davis, president of Turtle Mountain Community College; Dr. Mark Hagerott, chancellor of the North Dakota University System, Representative Dennis Johnson; and Mr. Don Morton, Fargo site leader for Microsoft and member of the North Dakota Board of Higher Education.

The compact seeks to fulfill its interstate mission through programs that expand postsecondary opportunity and success; promote innovative approaches to improving institutional and system productivity; improve affordability to students and states; and enhance connectivity between higher education and the workplace. Member states are: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.

Incoming executive officers for 2015-16 (left to right): Senator David Pearce (Missouri), Chair; Mr. Richard Short (Kansas), Vice Chair; and Senator Tim Flakoll (North Dakota), Treasurer.


Media Contact:
Mary Roberson
MHEC Director of Communications and Marketing
(612) 677-2765