Suzanne Morris recognized for leadership of higher education compact

Posted: Tuesday, November 17, 2015 - 11:47

CHICAGO, IL AND MINNEAPOLIS, MN – Suzanne Morris, board member for the Illinois Community College Board, was recognized for her leadership as commission chair of the Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC) during the commission’s semi-annual meeting held in Chicago, on November 16-17. Ms. Morris’s term as chair began last November (2014-15). Previously she served as the Compact’s vice chair (2013-14), and a term as treasurer (2012-13).

One of four regional higher education compacts in the United States, MHEC is a nonprofit regional organization assisting its 12 member Midwestern states in advancing higher education through interstate cooperation and resource sharing.

“Suzanne’s leadership has been especially important during these past few years as MHEC embarked on new initiatives that are closely aligned with MHEC’s efforts to improve the pathway to a degree including the Multi-state Collaborative on Military Credit and the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement,” said Larry Isaak, MHEC president.

Morris was initially appointed a MHEC commissioner in 2011 and was reappointed in June of this year for another four-year term.
"It has been an honor to serve as chair of MHEC," Morris said.  "This regional organization provides so much in terms of savings, research, and leadership for our states.  New initiatives will assist our military veterans, while ongoing programs continue to provide savings for students and institutions."

In addition to Morris, current Illinois MHEC Commissioners are: Dr. James Applegate, executive director of the Illinois Board of Higher Education; Rep. Kelly Burke, chair of the House Higher Education Committee; Sen. Pat McGuire, Chair of the Senate Higher Education Committee; and Addison Woodward, board member of the Illinois Board of Higher Education.

The compact seeks to fulfill its interstate mission through programs that expand postsecondary opportunity and success; promote innovative approaches to improving institutional and system productivity; improve affordability to students and states; and enhance connectivity between higher education and the workplace. Wisconsin has been a member state since 1994, additionally the Compact serves Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, and South Dakota.

Media Contact:
Mary Roberson
MHEC Director of Communications and Marketing
(612) 677-2765