Illinois and Michigan acknowledged as M-SARA states during the annual commission meeting

Posted: Wednesday, November 18, 2015 - 23:53

On Monday, November 16, the Midwestern Higher Education Compact acknowledged Illinois and Michigan as official Midwestern-State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (M-SARA) member states during the organization’s annual commission meeting. The Illinois Board of Higher Education and the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs serve as the M-SARA portal agencies. Illinois was approved at the ninth M-SARA state on July 31, and Michigan as the tenth M-SARA state on August 30.

2015 Illinois SARA

Pictured are: Mr. Larry Isaak, president; Ms. Jenny Parks, M-SARA director; Ms. Suzanne Morris, Illinois Community College Board member and MHEC commission chair, Dr. James Applegate, IBHE executive director, Rep. Kelly Burke, and Dr. Addison Woodward, IBHE board member. Sen. Pat McGuire, also a MHEC commissioner, was not present.



Mr. Larry Isaak, president; Ms. Jenny Parks, M-SARA director; Rep. Jim Tedder; Ms. Karen McPhee, senior education policy adviser for the office of the governor; Sen. Tonya Schuitmaker; Dr. David Eisler, president of Ferris State University; Dr. Dan Hurley, chief executive officer of the Michigan Association of State Universities; and Dr. Steven Ender, president of Grand Rapids Community College. Not pictured: Brian Whiston, state superintendent for the Michigan Department of Education.