Richard Short Elected Vice Chair of Midwestern Higher Education Compact

Posted: Tuesday, November 17, 2015 - 11:22

2015-16 MHEC OfficersCHICAGO, IL; MINNEAPOLIS, MN and GOODLAND, KS – North Dakota Richard Short was elected the vice chair of the Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC) on November 16, during the commission’s semi-annual meeting held in Chicago. One of four regional higher education compacts in the United States, MHEC is a nonprofit regional organization assisting its 12 member Midwestern states in advancing higher education through interstate cooperation and resource sharing. Member states have a combined enrollment of approximately 5 million students at public and private campuses.

“MHEC is very appreciative of Dick’s support of the Compact and its work,” said Larry Isaak, MHEC president. “His input as an officer and as the governor's designee for Kansas is valuable.”

Short, a resident of Goodland, was appointed a MHEC commissioner in 2011. He is the Governor Sam Brownback’s designee.

In addition to Short, current Kansas commissioners are: Barbara W. Ballard, State Representative, Kansas Legislature and Associate Director at the Robert J. Dole Institute; Blake Flanders, President/CEO, Kansas Board of Regents; and Helen Van Etten, Board Member, Kansas Board of Regents and Ty A. Masterson, Chair of the Senate Ways & Means Committee, Kansas Legislature. MHEC Commissioner Alternates: Marci Francisco, State Senator, Kansas Legislature; Marc Rhoades, Representative, Kansas Legislature.

The compact seeks to fulfill its interstate mission through programs that expand postsecondary opportunity and success; promote innovative approaches to improving institutional and system productivity; improve affordability to students and states; and enhance connectivity between higher education and the workplace. Member states are: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.

Incoming executive officers for 2015-16 (left to right): Senator David Pearce (Missouri), Chair; Mr. Richard Short (Kansas), Vice Chair; and Senator Tim Flakoll (North Dakota), Treasurer.


Media Contact:
Mary Roberson
MHEC Director of Communications and Marketing
(612) 677-2765