2024 Concurrent Enrollment Webinar Series-Webinar 2

Date & Time

About the Webinar Series

Explore how states in the MHEC region are implementing the recommendations from the January 2024 Community College Research Center (CCRC) and College in High School Alliance report, “How States and Systems Can Support Practitioner Efforts to Strengthen Dual Enrollment.” This five-part webinar series showcases practical examples of states operationalizing the report's three key recommendations: expanding access to dual/concurrent enrollment, strengthening dual/concurrent enrollment pathways, and building and sustaining access, quality, and success through robust partnerships. Join us to learn how states and systems in the MHEC region are translating these recommendations into effective practices to enhance dual enrollment.

Expanding Access to Dual and Concurrent Enrollment: Ohio's Innovative Model

The number of high school students taking dual or concurrent enrollment courses over the past 20 years has expanded rapidly, but not all students have had equal access and opportunity to benefit from these early college courses. To broaden the benefits of dual enrollment, the state of Ohio passed legislation in 2017 establishing the Innovative Program (IP) policy, allowing waivers to test-based eligibility requirements—a frequently identified barrier to equitable access—for specific high school–college partnerships providing expanded outreach and support for students underrepresented in the state’s dual enrollment program. CCRC and ODHE will discuss the IP policy, its impact on broadening access to dual enrollment for Black and Hispanic students, and how the state ultimately shifted in 2022 to permanently permit the use of high school grades as an alternative to standardized testing to determine eligibility for dual enrollment.


  • Jenny Parks, Vice President, MHEC
  • John Fink Senior Research Associate and Program Lead, Community College Research Center
  • Sarah Griffin, Research Associate, Community College Research Center
  • Nadia Leary, College Credit Plus, Lorain County Community College
  • Becky Stewart, Program Manager for College Credit Plus, Ohio Department of Higher Education