Midwestern-State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement

The State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements, commonly known as SARA, provide a voluntary, regional approach to state oversight of postsecondary distance education. When states join SARA -- and membership is voluntary -- they agree to follow uniform processes for approving their eligible  institutions' participation in SARA. They also agree to deal with other states' SARA institutions in a common way when those institutions carry out activities in SARA states other than their own. SARA's uniform standards and policies provide benefits to both states and institutions carrying out distance education in multiple states. As of May 2021, 49 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands are members of SARA. Over 2,200 colleges and universities participate.

As of August 12, 2016, eleven states are participating in the Midwestern State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (M-SARA): Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, and Wisconsin. South Dakota, also a MHEC member state, joined SARA through the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education.

Participation in SARA
Institutions & counting
FY21 Savings
Wondering the latest with SARA?

Check out NC-SARA News & Events for the latest updates.

In collaboration with the Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC) and the National Council for State Authorization Agreements (NC-SARA), the M-SARA Regional Steering Committee establishes and disseminates criteria for state participation and amends such criteria, as appropriate, over time.

M-SARA Regional Steering Committee
Jennifer Armour Kansas Board of Regents Kansas
Gretchen Bartelson Northwest Iowa Community College Iowa
Brandie Elliott University of Missouri System Missouri
Ahmad Ezzeddine Wayne State University Michigan
Kathleen Fimple Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education Nebraska
Chris Foley Indiana University Indiana
Morna Foy Wisconsin Technical College System Wisconsin
Shellie Haut Central Michigan University Michigan
Robin Hemenway Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota Minnesota
Lisa Johnson North Dakota University System North Dakota
Mary Kochlefl Xavier University Ohio
Nkechi Onwuameze Illinois Board of Higher Education Illinois
Ken Sauer Indiana Commission for Higher Education Indiana
Tom Sudkamp Ohio Department of Higher Education Ohio
Betsy Talbot Minnesota Office of Higher Education Minnesota
Laura Vedenhaupt Missouri Department of Higher Education & Workforce Development Missouri
Contact me for more information
MHEC-Emily Jacobson

Emily Jacobson

Associate Director of M-SARA
Policy & Research