Midwestern Higher Education Compact

ANNUAL COMMISSION MEETING and POLICY FORUM

November 14-16, 2018 Delta Hotels, Fargo, ND AGENDA

Wednesday, November 14, 2018

5:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Reception

Delta Hotel – Bach/Brahms

6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. Delta Hotel - Bach/Brahms Dinner – MHEC Commissioners and Guests

Recognition of Mr. Larry Isaak's Service as MHEC President

Thursday, November 15, 2018

7:00 a.m. to 7:45 a.m. Delta Hotel - Bach/Brahms Breakfast

8:00 a.m. to 8:30 a.m. Delta Hotel - Crystal Ballroom 1

Call to order – MHEC Chair Tim Flakoll (ND) 1.

a. Roll Call of the States

b. Introduction of MHEC President-elect Susan Heegaard

c. Introductions of Commissioners and Guests

8:30 a.m. to 8:40 a.m.

North Dakota Welcome – Mr. Tony Grindberg, Former MHEC 2. Commissioner and Fargo City Commissioner

8:40 a.m. to 9:15 a.m. Action Item 1

- 3. Approval of Minutes, November 13-14, 2017 (pp. 7-17)
- Review of the Roles and Responsibilities of MHEC Commissioners -4. Mr. Larry Isaak, MHEC President (refer to handout)
- 5. Report of the Chair – MHEC Chair Tim Flakoll (ND)
- Report of the President: MHEC Convening, Programs, Research, and 6. Contracts; MHEC State Update - Mr. Larry Isaak, MHEC President
- 7. Unfinished Business
- 8. **New Business**
 - a. Treasurer's Report MHEC Treasurer Olivia Madison (IA) (refer to handouts)

Action Item 2

- 1. FY 2018 Audit Report Accept
- 2. Budget Highlights for FY 2018
- b. Report of the Phillip Sirotkin and Outstanding Service Award Committees - MHEC Treasurer Olivia Madison (IA), Committee Chair

Action Items 3 and 4 Delta Hotel – Crystal Ballroom 1		c. Report from Nominations Committee and Election of Officers, Vice Chair and Treasurer – Commissioner Dick Short (KS), Committee Chair (refer to handout)
9:15 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.	9.	Shared Medical Simulation Center – Dr. Charles D. Peterson, Dean, College of Health Professions, North Dakota State University and Ms. Laura Goldhahn, Vice President of Administration, Sanford Health Sanford, America's largest rural hospital organization, teams up with five Tri-College University partner campuses to move observational learning to hands-on, interdisciplinary medical training
10:00 a.m. to 10:15 a.m.	10.	BREAK and Collection of Conflict of Interest Forms
10:15 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.	11.	Regional Perspective from the Midwest's State Capitols – Mr. Mike McCabe, Director, Council of State Governments, Midwest Office
11:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.	12.	Federal Higher Education Policy: What's Next from DC? And Why Does It Matter? – Dr. Thomas Harnisch, Director of State Relations and Policy Analysis, American Association of State Colleges and Universities
11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. Delta Hotel – Bach/Brahms	13.	Lunch
12:30 p.m. to 1:45 p.m. Delta Hotel – Crystal Ballroom 1	14.	The Forces Driving Higher Education: What they mean for the future – Mr. Dennis Jones, President Emeritus, National Center for Higher Education Management Systems (NCHEMS)
1:45 p.m. to 2:00 p.m.	15.	MHEC President Larry Isaak's Reflections
2:00 p.m. to 2:45 p.m.	16.	The Letter to the Next MHEC President Tables will identify key points to pass onto MHEC President Larry Isaak's successor: MHEC President-elect Susan Heegaard.
2:45 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.	17.	BREAK
3:00 p.m. to 3:45 p.m.	18.	Report Out and Fireside Chat: MHEC Chair-elect Ken Sauer and MHEC President-elect Susan Heegaard
3:45 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.	19.	MHEC President Larry Isaak's Closing Observations
4:00 p.m.	20.	ANNOUNCEMENTS
4:15 p.m.	21.	RECESS
5:10 p.m.	22.	Buses depart to Sanctuary Events Center, 670 4th Ave N, Fargo, ND (Exit out main entrance of the Delta Hotel.)
5:30 p.m.	23.	Reception

6:00 p.m. 24. Photo Opportunity with Keynote Mr. Clint Hill, Former U.S. Secret

Service Agent and Ms. Lisa McCubbin, New York Times Best Selling

Author

6:30 p.m. 25. Dinner

Welcome – MHEC Chair Tim Flakoll (ND)

7:00 p.m. 26. Awards Presentation – Mr. Larry Isaak, MHEC President; and MHEC

Chair Tim Flakoll (ND)

7:15 p.m. 27. Five Presidents – Mr. Clint Hill and Ms. Lisa McCubbin

8:15 p.m. 28. Book signing with Mr. Clint Hill and Ms. Lisa McCubbin

9:00 p.m. 29. Buses return to Delta Hotel

Friday, November 16, 2018

7:00 a.m. to 7:45 a.m. Delta Hotel – Bach/Brahms **Breakfast**

8:00 a.m. Call to order – MHEC Chair Tim Flakoll (ND)

Delta Hotel – Crystal Ballroom 1

POLICY FORUM: Surviving or Thriving: Creating a Sustainable Future for

Colleges and Universities

8:00 a.m. to 8:25 a.m. Keynote - Envisioning Higher Education in 2030 - Dr. Peter Smith,

Professor of Innovative Practices in Higher Education and Orkand Chair,

University of Maryland University College

8:25 a.m. to 8:50 a.m. Q & A

8:50 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. BREAK

9:00 a.m. to 10:15 a.m. Plenary Session 1: Improving Funding Structures and Resource Allocation

Moderator: Commissioner Teresa Lubbers, Indiana Commission for Higher

Education and MHEC Commissioner Alternate

The State of Funding for Community Colleges and Prospects for the Future

- Dr. James Palmer, Professor, Educational Administration and

Foundations, Illinois State University

Sustaining the Liberal Arts at Regional Public Universities – Dr. Greg Summers, Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, University of

Wisconsin - Stevens Point

Addressing the Cost Challenges of Maintaining Rural Institutions – Dr.

Todd Harmening, System Director for Academic Programs and

Collaboration, Minnesota State

10:15 a.m. to 10:35 a.m. BREAK

10:35 a.m. to 11:50 a.m. Plenary Session 2: Innovative Approaches to Access and Success

Moderator: The Honorable Kyle Davison, State Senator, North Dakota Legislature; and MHEC Commissioner

Using Digital Badges to Assess College Readiness – Dr. Barry Fishman, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor and Professor of Learning Technologies, School of Information and School of Education, University of Michigan

Expanding STEM Career Pathways through Online Education – Dr. Julia Melkers, Associate Professor, School of Public Policy, Georgia Tech

The Role of Proactive Advising Systems in Promoting Student Success – Dr. Rayane Alamuddin, Associate Director for Research and Evaluation, Ithaka S+R

11:50 a.m. to Noon

Concluding Remarks – Mr. Larry Isaak, MHEC President; and MHEC Chair Tim Flakoll (ND)

Noon (Lunch on own) ADJOURN and PASSING OF THE GAVEL
MHEC Chair Tim Flakoll (ND), and Chair-Elect Ken Sauer (IN)

