Midwestern Higher Education Compact

Awards Committee

2020 Application Form-Phillip Sirotkin Award

Nominee's Information:

nationally:

Name (First & Last):		Years of service to MH	EC:
Address:			
City:	State:	Zip:	
Phone:	Email:		
Sponsor's Information:	,		
Name (First & Last):			
Address:			
City:	State:	Zip:	
Phone:	Email:		
lease explain why you feel the h	ominee exhibits a passion for post	secondary education:	
Describe the nominee's innovative	e and creation of ideas that advanc	e collaboration and coopera	ation in education
ist any contribution to the creati	ion of and/or securing participation	n in MHEC programs and serv	vices:
Please describe how the nominee and quality of higher education in	has helped to build regional partn the Midwest:	ership for effective and effic	cient access to,
Share how the nominee has promo	oted and identified opportunities to	o increase visibility for MHEC	C regionally and

Midwestern Higher Education Compact Awards Committee

2020 Application Form-Phillip Sirotkin Award

Dr. Phillip L. Sirotkin (1923-2007) was the founding father and senior adviser of the Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC). Sirotkin's skill at developing collaborative arrangements among state governments and higher education institutions was tapped to help create and establish a higher education compact among 12 states in the Midwest, the only section of the country that did not have a regional agreement at that time. After working with state officials to found the Midwestern Higher Education Compact in the 1990s, Sirotkin served several years as a senior adviser to the commission.

Sirotkin also served as the longtime executive director of MHEC's sister compact the Boulder-based Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE). He guided WICHE for 13 years - 1976 to 1989 - during which time the 15-state higher education organization created and extended cost-effective educational programs and opportunities that benefit students and public and private colleges and universities throughout the West.

Sirotkin came to WICHE as its executive director from the State University of New York at Albany where he was executive vice president and vice president for academic affairs between 1971 and 1976.

He moved into higher education administration after several positions in the mental health field. He was with the National Institute of Mental Health from 1964 to 1971, serving as NIMH associate director during his last four years there.

Earlier, he was executive assistant to the director of the California Department of Mental Hygiene from 1960-1963, and he helped to establish the mental health training and research program at WICHE between 1957 and 1960.

Sirotkin received his bachelor's degree from Wayne State University (MI) in 1945, and his master's degree and doctorate in political science and constitutional law from the University of Chicago between 1947 and 1951. He was an instructor and assistant professor of political science at Wellesley College between 1950 and 1957 when he joined WICHE for the first time to help develop its mental health education program.

During World War II, he served in Army intelligence between 1943 and 1946 when he became fluent in the Russian language.

Sirotkin, who was born in Moline, Illinois on August 2, 1923, had a consuming passion for teaching and education, politics, baseball, and literature.

Sirotkin Award Recipient History

- 1999 Dr. Phillip Sirotkin (CO), MHEC Founding Father and Senior Adviser
- 2001 Dr. William Sederburg (MI), First Chair of the MHEC Commission
- 2007 Dr. David Murphy (MN), MHEC President Emeritus (retired)
- 2009 Sen. Lana Oleen (KS), Past MHEC Chair and Interim MHEC President
- 2010 Rep. Lyndon Carlson (MN), MHEC Commissioner, Commissioner Alternate, and Past MHEC Chair
- 2011 Dr. William Napier (OH), MHEC Commissioner and past MHEC Chair
- 2012 Dr. Gerald Brouder (MO), former MHEC Commissioner
- 2013 Dr. Randolph Ferlic (NE), MHEC Commissioner and past MHEC Chair
- 2014 Mr. Robert N. Downer (IA), MHEC Commissioner and past MHEC Chair
- 2016 Sen. Sheila Harsdorf (WI), MHEC Commissioner and past MHEC Chair
- 2017 Dr. Rolf Wegenke (WI), MHEC Commissioner
- 2018 Mr. Larry A. Isaak (MN), MHEC President (retired)
- 2019 Dr. Stephanie Davidson (OH), MHEC Commissioner

Please contact Mary Roberson, Senior Director of Communications and Marketing at 612-677-2765, with any questions. All nominations should be submitted by Friday, September 25, 2020. The completed form should be emailed to maryr@mhec.org.

- The names of viable nominees will be presented to the Awards Committee for discussion. The committee may then make a recommendation(s) to the commission and a private vote will be taken.
- Nominations received but not awarded will be held for one year and may be re-considered the following year. After the one-year period the nominees will need to be re-nominated.
- Following the vote of the commission, the recipient(s) will be acknowledged online during the virtual Annual Commission Meeting November 9-10, 2020.