Ken Sauer Assumes Chair of Midwestern Higher Education Compact

FARGO, ND; MINNEAPOLIS, MN and INDIANAPOLIS, IN – Dr. Ken Sauer, senior associate commissioner and chief academic officer for the Indiana Commission for Higher Education, assumed the position of commission chair of the Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC) for the 2018-19 year, during the commission’s semi-annual meeting held in Fargo, ND, on November 15-16. Sauer was elected vice chair (2017-18) and served a term as treasurer (2016-17).

One of four regional higher education compacts in the United States, MHEC is a nonprofit regional organization assisting its 12 member Midwestern states in advancing higher education through interstate cooperation and resource sharing. The primary constituents served by the Midwestern Higher Education Compact are nearly 1,000 public and private non-profit institutions in the member states whose combined enrollments total over 4.2 million students.

Sauer has served as a MHEC commissioner since October 2007, as the governor’s designee. He was reappointed in March 2017, as Governor Eric Holcomb’s designee.

“I have had the pleasure to work with MHEC for well over a decade and it is an honor to serve as commission chair of an organization that has done so much for its member states,” said Dr. Sauer. “Indiana has benefitted greatly from this incredible organization and I am thrilled to have this opportunity to give back.”

Indiana has been a member of the Compact since March of 1996. Indiana higher education institutions, school districts, state and local governments, as well as students and families have saved nearly $51 million by using MHEC’s programs and contracts since becoming a member.

“I look forward to working closely with Ken in the coming year as we support our MHEC states and institutions in facing opportunities and challenges,” said Susan Heegaard, MHEC president. “MHEC will benefit from Ken’s deep experience in postsecondary education and passion for opportunity and excellence. We are fortunate and grateful for Ken’s leadership.”

Additional Indiana MHEC Commissioners are: Dr. Greg Goode, executive director of government relations for Indiana State University, Dr. Charles R. Johnson, Jr., president of Vincennes University, Representative Wendy McNamara, and Senator Andy Zay. Ms. Teresa Lubbers, commissioner for the Indiana Commission for Higher Education, serves as commissioner alternate.

Legislatively created, the Midwestern Higher Education Compact’s purpose is to provide greater higher education opportunities and services in the Midwestern region. Collectively MHEC creates solutions that build higher education’s capacity to better serve individuals, institutions, and states by leveraging the region’s resources, expertise, ideas, and experiences through multi-state: convening, programs, research, and contracts. Member states are: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. Learn more.

Media Contact:
Mary Roberson
MHEC Director of Communications and Marketing
(612) 677-2765